Skip to content
All records
Data center siteSite record

SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center

Sakai, Osaka, 27, JapanStatus Under Review
Capacity
400 MW
Planned / design
Lead participant
SoftBank Corp.
Developer · Operator
Last updated
Aug 25, 2026
Most recent public record update

About SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center

SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center — Conversion of acquired land and buildings within Sharp's former Sakai LCD plant; OpenAI site role not established by primary evidence. SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center is in Sakai, Osaka, 27, JP and is a data center campus with development status. Participants include SoftBank Corp. as developer, SoftBank Corp. as operator. Published specifications include 150 MW planned capacity, 400 MW future potential. Development comprises Sharp–SoftBank MOU and reuse design (completed), Acquisition and AI data center conversion (development), Future power expansion (planned). Key milestones include SoftBank acquired Sakai land and buildings for about JPY100 billion. (2025-03-01) and Reported 2026 operations target. (2026-12-31). inherited power supply — 150 MW: Over-150-MW site power target using inherited Sharp infrastructure; not IT load. inherited cooling system: Reuse of Sharp cooling infrastructure; current configuration not publicly disclosed. Capital records include land and building acquisition of 100000000000 JPY for SoftBank purchase of relevant Sakai land/buildings; not construction financing or total project cost. | Canonical amount normalized from JPY 100 billion to 100,000,000,000 JPY; original unit wording retained in the audit manifest.

Capacity

Planned / design
Operating capacityAn operating IT-capacity figure has not been publicly disclosed.
Future Potential150 MWFact · SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center
Future Potential400 MWFact · SoftBank Sakai AI Data Center

Development

3 phases · 4 milestones
Sharp–SoftBank MOU and reuse designAnnounced Or Preconstruction

Original 2024 plan and 2025 operations target.

Acquisition and AI data center conversionAnnounced Or Preconstruction

Land and buildings were acquired in March 2025; commissioning has not been publicly announced.

Future power expansionPlanned

Over-400-MW future site power potential.

Jun 7, 2024
SoftBank and Sharp announced Sakai reuse MOU
Completed
Sep 1, 2024
Original target to start conversion around autumn 2024
Month
Mar 1, 2025
SoftBank acquired Sakai land and buildings for about JPY100 billion
Completed
Dec 31, 2026
Reported 2026 operations target
Forecast

Infrastructure

Electric GridPlanned Or Represented

150 MW

Over-150-MW site power target using inherited Sharp infrastructure; not IT load.

Cooling SystemPlanned Or Represented

Reuse of Sharp cooling infrastructure; current configuration not publicly disclosed.

Project map

0 of 1 project point mapped
Infrastructure facts
2
Mapped records
1
Capacity figures
1

No map point available

Power & interconnection: 1Cooling & water: 1

Facts & sources

Published claims and their source links.

5 facts
Acquisition Consideration
100 JPY billion
Fact
Site Area
440,000 square metres
Reported Rounded
Power Capacity
150 MW
Fact
Future Power Capacity
400 MW
Fact
Inherited Infrastructure
Land, buildings, electric power supply facilities and cooling systems
Fact